Reviews In Magazines (Spring 2018)

Reviews In Magazines (Spring 2018)

Independent Reviews
Since our last update we have received several more complimentary reviews about our sleeping bags. Please see below some of the magazine reviews from the past few years. Some relate to our Cumulus-branded sleeping bags, which were tested before our 2014 re-branding to Criterion

Latest

Activity Ultralight Down Jacket
The Great Outdoors – February 2017 – Chris’ Column (Chris Townsend)
“..especially good choice for backpacking due to the low weight and [low] packed bulk. Packed size is tiny. The jacket is lovely to wear, being very soft and flexible. It’s very warm for the weight too. I’ve warn it standing around on windy days with sub-zero temperatures and stayed comfortable.”

Activity Ultralight Down Jacket
TRAIL Magazine, February 2017 – ‘Best For Your Budget’
“The price is exceptional for what you get, as this is an 850 fill power down with Pertex Quantum shell, which makes it very lightweight. Hood fit is superb. Feels very comfortable. Can easily store it in a rucksack. Great for most hillwalkers.”
“TRAIL MAGAZINE APPROVED” Rated 4/5 [Beaten by only one out of 8 others, which costs almost twice the price.]

Activity Ultralight Down Jacket
Outdoors magic Review by Jon Doran – January 2017 – Our first Activity Down Jacket review
“..mixes decent warmth with light weight and impressive packability. Pleasant, soft, silky, lofty feel…adjustable hood takes a helmet but adjusts down to move with a bare head. Baffles are ‘midi’ allowing more loft plus reduced number of seam lines and cold spots. Great warmth-to-weight ratio. Around 2/3s the size of a comparable synthetic-filled jacket and appreciably warmer.

Traveller 500
Adventure Travel – The Ultimate 2017 Bucket List – Jan/Feb 2017 – Sleeping Bags Review
“A functional sleeping bag that does what it says on the tin….very impressive loft.. extremely comfortable..a very respectable price..one of the most packable too.” Scored 8/10. [Only 1 higher at 9/10]

Lady 500
TRAIL, 2017 GEAR GUIDE – ‘Need Something Specific Women’s Specific Sleeping Bag’
[Description provided by Criterion]

Expedition 900
TRAIL, 2017 GEAR GUIDE – ‘Need Something Specific Expedition Sleeping Bag’
[Description provided by Criterion]

Quantum 200
TRAIL, 2017 GEAR GUIDE – ‘Summer Sleeping Bags’
“It is the weight of just 558g and the packed size of 13x20cm that instantly set this bag apart….the packed size, weight and price make it excellent value for money for lightweight backpacking.”
Positives: price;extremely lightweight; packed size; full length side-zip. Negatives: not as warm as the heavier bags; no shoulder baffle.”

Older

Quantum 200
TRAIL, August 2016 – ‘Live for the Outdoors’
“..an extremely lightweight and compact product … great for summer. The price, packed size and weight make this bag ideal and far better value than most for lightweight, summer backpacking. The full length side zip … is unique among bags [tested] here, which is ideal on warm nights to cool the feet. This is a major benefit.”

Ultralight 350
TRAIL, June 2016 – ‘Best For Your Budget. 3 season sleeping bags’
Positives: superb weight, packed size; the construction limits cold spots; temperature rating, price. Negatives: not as warm as other bags [this review]. “Frequent backpackers will love this bag due to its weight but you may need to compromise on the temperature rating [-3°C]”.

Quantum 350
SINGLETRACKWORLD.COM – March 2015, Web Review, after 8 months testing
“..the perfect bikepacking sleeping bag. A warm bag that packs down small and doesn’t cost the earth. For those who like to travel light without having to compromise on warmth. In terms of construction no corners have been cut. …with what I would consider the essential features of a good sleeping bag. I can vouch for the warmth and comfort of the bag … and the bag has worked as claimed.

Quantum 350
TRAIL, March 2014 – ‘TRAIL MAGAZINE GEAR BLOG’- Dan Aspel, Features Editor   
“.. it’s so good I feel like I need to shout about it…a perfect choice for wild camping in the British hills for everything short of a deep winter freeze. Despite this it weighs a remarkable 695g and compresses into a minimal stuff sack… it has spent the past 12 months accompanying me on every camping trip – no other bag has got a look in. A windy, barely above freezing night at nearly 900m passed by quickly and warmly thanks to this bag.”

Quantum 350
TRAIL, October 2013 – ‘Used & Abused’
“..a phenomenally light bag.. offers the heat retention of a product three times its weight..provided an enviable level of comfort .. packed down.. absurdly small..super easy to transport.”

Prime 700
TRAIL, March 2013 – ‘Gear Review’ and ‘Buyers Guide’
“..offers an extremely impressive weight rating of 1210g and an equally attractive lower comfort rating of -18 deg C ..a staggeringly light piece of kit..it hasn’t sacrificed noticeable levels of comfort or performance.. the best lightweight down sleeping bag in our test.”

Prime 550
TRAIL, November 2012 – ‘Trailtesters video review’
“.. very comfortable, warm, well made…suitable for winter wild camping. Long term test…very satisfied. Good value for money. Rating 95%.”

Even Older

Ultralight 350
TRAIL, June 2012 – ‘Sleeping Bags’
“A very well-priced and warm sleeping bag…will suit fast and light users..”

Quantum 450
OE Outdoor Enthusiast, March 2011 – ‘in the bag’
“..super light.. feels great.. for year round use..worth serious consideration.”

Quantum 350
TRAIL, Spring 2010 – ‘Group Test’
“Ideal for travelling light. Incredible warmth for weight and packed size.”

Quantum 200
TRAIL, August 2007 – ‘Wild Nights’
Reviewer’s first choice in the ‘Lightweight Junkie’ section.

Quantum 200
TRAIL, June 2007 – ‘Matt’s Lightweight Kit’
“Packs down amazingly small. Perfect for fast and light summer crossing of The Lakes or for regular adventure racers.”

Quantum 350
Adventure Travel, May/June 2007 – Gear Guide
“Pricey, but warm, compact, and stupidly light. Top product.” Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Traveller 650
Adventure Travel, May/June 2007 – Gear Guide   
“Incredible warmth for this weight and price.” Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Traveller 500
TRAIL, August 2006 – ‘Used & Abused’ (main featured item – tested for two years)
Editor’s choice for 3-season sleeping bag. “Practical and realistic for Britain. This bag gives me the best night’s sleep.”