Sleeping Bag Reviews and Jacket Reviews

Sleeping Bag Reviews and Jacket Reviews

Independent Reviews
Since our last update we have received several more complimentary reviews about our sleeping bags. Please see below some of the magazine reviews from the past few years. Some relate to our Cumulus-branded sleeping bags, which were tested before our 2014 re-branding to CRITERION (see below).

Latest

OUR FIRST ACTIVITY JACKET REVIEW
TRAIL, February 2017 – ‘Best For Your Budget’

Criterion ACTIVITY Down Jacket
“The price is exceptional for what you get, as this is an 850 fill power down with Pertex Quantum shell, which makes it very lightweight. Hood fit is superb. Feels very comfortable. Can easily store it in a rucksack. Great for most hillwalkers.”
“TRAIL MAGAZINE APPROVED” Rated 4/5 [Beaten by only one out of 8 others, which costs almost twice the price.]

Adventure Travel, THE ULTIMATE 2017 BUCKET LIST – Jan/Feb 2017 – Sleeping Bags Reviewed

Criterion Traveller 500
“A functional sleeping bag that does what it says on the tin.”
“..very impressive loft.. extremely comfortable..a very respectable price..one of the most packable too.” Scored 8/10. [Only 1 higher at 9/10]

TRAIL, 2017 GEAR GUIDE – ‘Need Something Specific’

Criterion Lady 500: “WOMEN SPECIFIC BAG”
[Description provided by Criterion]
Criterion Expedition 900: “EXTREME BAG “
[Description provided by Criterion]

TRAIL, 2017 GEAR GUIDE – ‘Summer Sleeping Bags’
Criterion Quantum 200
“It is the weight of just 558g and the packed size of 13x20cm that instantly set this bag apart….the packed size, weight and price make it excellent value for money for lightweight backpacking.”
Positives: price;extremely lightweight; packed size; full length side-zip. Negatives: not as warm as the heavier bags; no shoulder baffle.

Older

TRAIL, August 2016 – ‘Live for the Outdoors’

Criterion Quantum 200

“..an extremely lightweight and compact product … great for summer. The price, packed size and weight make this bag ideal and far better value than most for lightweight, summer backpacking. The full length side zip … is unique among bags [tested] here, which is ideal on warm nights to cool the feet. This is a major benefit.”

TRAIL, June 2016 – ‘Best For Your Budget. 3 season sleeping bags’

Criterion Ultralight 350

Positives: superb weight, packed size; the construction limits cold spots; temperature rating, price. Negatives: not as warm as other bags [this review]. “Frequent backpackers will love this bag due to its weight but you may need to compromise on the temperature rating [-3°C]”.

SINGLETRACKWORLD.COM

March 2015, Web Review, after 8 months testing

Criterion (formerly Cumulus) Quantum 350

“..the perfect bikepacking sleeping bag. A warm bag that packs down small and doesn’t cost the earth. For those who like to travel light without having to compromise on warmth. In terms of construction no corners have been cut. …with what I would consider the essential features of a good sleeping bag. I can vouch for the warmth and comfort of the bag … and the bag has worked as claimed.

TRAIL, March 2014 – ‘TRAIL MAGAZINE GEAR BLOG’- Dan Aspel, Features Editor

Cumulus Quantum 350

“.. it’s so good I feel like I need to shout about it…a perfect choice for wild camping in the British hills for everything short of a deep winter freeze. Despite this it weighs a remarkable 695g and compresses into a minimal stuff sack… it has spent the past 12 months accompanying me on every camping trip – no other bag has got a look in. A windy, barely above freezing night at nearly 900m passed by quickly and warmly thanks to this bag.”

TRAIL, October 2013 – ‘Used & Abused’

Cumulus Quantum 350

“..a phenomenally light bag.. offers the heat retention of a product three times its weight..provided an enviable level of comfort .. packed down.. absurdly small..super easy to transport.”

TRAIL, March 2013 – ‘Gear Review’ and ‘Buyers Guide’

Cumulus Prime 700

“..offers an extremely impressive weight rating of 1210g and an equally attractive lower comfort rating of -18 deg C ..a staggeringly light piece of kit..it hasn’t sacrificed noticeable levels of comfort or performance.. the best lightweight down sleeping bag in our test.”

TRAIL, November 2012 – ‘Trailtesters video review’

Cumulus Prime 550

“.. very comfortable, warm, well made…suitable for winter wild camping. Long term test…very satisfied. Good value for money. Rating 95%.”

Even Older

TRAIL, June 2012 – ‘Sleeping Bags’

Cumulus Ultralight 350

“A very well-priced and warm sleeping bag…will suit fast and light users..”

OE Outdoor Enthusiast, March 2011 – ‘in the bag’ Cumulus Quantum 450

“..super light.. feels great.. for year round use..worth serious consideration.”

TRAIL, Spring 2010 – ‘Group Test’

Cumulus Quantum 350

“Ideal for travelling light. Incredible warmth for weight and packed size.”

TRAIL, August 2007 – ‘Wild Nights’

Cumulus Quantum 200

Reviewer’s first choice in the ‘Lightweight Junkie’ section.

TRAIL, June 2007 – ‘Matt’s Lightweight Kit’

Cumulus Quantum 200

“Packs down amazingly small. Perfect for fast and light summer crossing of The Lakes or for regular adventure racers.”

Adventure Travel, May/June 2007 – Gear Guide

Cumulus Quantum 350

“Pricey, but warm, compact, and stupidly light. Top product.” Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Adventure Travel, May/June 2007 – Gear Guide Mysterious Traveller 650

“Incredible warmth for this weight and price.” Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

TRAIL, August 2006 – ‘Used & Abused’ (main featured item – used for two years)

Mysterious Traveller 500

Editor’s choice for 3-season sleeping bag. “Practical and realistic for Britain. This bag gives me the best night’s sleep.”